My Favourite Hair Care Products

My hair has gone through a lot. As with many women’s hair it has been dyed, straightened and curled. It has even fallen out due to stress. We often judge hair as a significant aspect of what makes us beautiful. Full and lush hair is equated with health and beauty and we spend thousands of dollars a year colouring, cutting and treating it. And that’s just salon visits. Home care is also important to maintain your mane. Here are some of my favourite products I use to keep my hair at its healthiest.

I really don’t have loyalty to a particular brand and change what brands use regularly. Plus, there is also that myth about our hair getting used to a certain product and therefore decreasing its effectiveness. Last time I visited the salon, I had my ends lightened. My hairdresser and I were quite nervous and cautious about this as my hair is prone to breakage when I lighten it. She gave me a Cureplex treatment to use bi-weekly, as well as mixing it with the dye. I have had no breakage so far (knock on wood) and my hair has remained healthy.  I also picked up Paul Mitchell’s Tea Tree Lemon Sage Thickening Shampoo and Conditioner which I hadn’t used before. The smell is amazing and refreshing, and it has given my hair body that I love. I also use a mousse to plump up my hair even further and have finally found one that lasts for months without become all liquidy. The Goldwell Gloss Glamour Whip is by fair the best mousse I have used and it really thickens the roots. After blow drying I seal and smooth the ends with cult-favourite Tigi’s Bed Head After Party. Once a week I use Goldwell’s Kerasilk Treatment for damaged hair.

IMG_3060

As I mentioned, I rarely use the same shampoo and conditioner twice in a row, but I have found some products that I go back to. Paul Mitchell’s Strength line is a life-safer when my hair in breaking and in some desperate need for TLC. I really do notice a difference in the strength of my hair when I use it.

pm_strength_superstrongdailyshampoo_productpm_strength_superstrongdailyconditioner_product (2)

paul-mitchell-strength-product-banner
Source: Paul Mitchell

Sometimes I just want to use natural products in my hair and for that my favourite brand is Al’chemy. No chemicals are used and the products are jam packed with Australian botanicals. I use the Rice Aminos and Wheat Protein Shampoo and Avocado and Calendula Conditioner, which has a lovely rose scent. For a natural treatment, I adore Aesop’s Rose Hair and Scalp Masque.

rice-aminos-shampoo-225-largeavocado-conditioner-225-large

rose_hair_scalp_masque_120ml_1
Sources: Purist and Aesop

Redken is another brand that I keep in my rotation. I use the Color Extend Magnetics range. There is nothing worse than getting a new colour and it fading within weeks. I like using this when I have a brand new colour to seal it in. I am also interested in trying another of Redken’s lines, the Pillow Proof Collection. It protects the hair from heating and as I am always blow drying my hair, that is something I need.

10892699-1389374710-46064510906571-4944294072014552

11134153-1674342235374149
Source: Redken

 

Leave a Reply

